About us

Welcome to the official website of the IEEE Eta Kappa Nu Honor Society - Epsilon Delta Chapter at Tufts University.

Founded in 1904 by Maurice L. Carr at the University of Illinois at Urbana–Champaign, Eta Kappa Nu (HKN) was originally established to help electrical engineering graduates find employment and gain footholds in their careers. The intention of the founding members of HKN was to recognize and prepare the future leaders of the profession. The Greek letters ΗΚΝ were chosen from the first, fourth, and last letter of the Greek word for electron: ΗΛΕΚΤΡΟΝ. In 1927, the HKN Shield and coat-of-arms were adopted, incorporating the Wheatstone bridge (and its ability to provide extremely accurate measurements).

For more than 100 years, HKN has embraced excellence. Today, IEEE-HKN is still dedicated to encouraging and recognizing excellence in the IEEE-designated fields of interest. In the years ahead, IEEE-HKN will continue to reinvent itself to meet the needs of its members, the institutions they serve, and society overall.

The Epsilon Delta chapter at Tufts University embraces the same principles as it champions intellectual curiosity, fosters camaraderie between students, and prepare inductees for their future careers. For more inquires, please refer to the contact section.

Officers 2020 - 2021

President: Yiwen Jiang - ECE 2021

Vice President: Isaac Pizarro - ECE 2021

Corresponding Secretary: Melissa Rowland - ECE 2021

Recording Secretary: Melinda Burns - ECE 2022

Treasurer: Trung Truong - ECE 2021


Contact us

For more inquiries, please send an email to our organization's email, or contact the HKN advisor Prof. Hwa Chang.